Seriously, guys.

I love my son.

I’m a single mom with joint custody and I hate it. I wish he was here all the time and yet I understand how important it is for him to have a relationship with his dad and his younger siblings from his dad’s second marriage. It would be selfish of me to keep him all the time, but I would love every second.

When he’s gone I feel like a part of me is missing. When he’s home I feel complete again.

Even when he leaves a room that was spotless when he walked in and his clothes and things are left on the floor and the pillows and blankets are strewn about. I love it.

Even when he leaves the toothpaste uncapped, his toothbrush on the counter, and the toilet seat up. I love it.

Even when I have to go to bed earlier and get up earlier because of his school schedule, I love it.

Even though the workload is 3x as much and the groceries are twice as expensive, I love it.

I never understood or could relate to the parents that said “Man, it must be nice to have a break from your kid”.

There’s no such thing as a break from being a parent. Even when they’re not in your presence, you’re still a parent. You’re still concerned with what they’re doing, you’re still thinking about them, you’re still planning your life around them. That’s what parents do. We love and we raise our children and we delight in seeing them grow and learn.  God knows I don’t want a “break” from that! I’d miss so much! When he’s not home, I check out (and try not to clean…) his room and sometimes I just sit in there and miss him.  I text him, I send him funny pictures, and I buy him little things. I wait for him to get home so we can watch certain shows or movies together… it’s all about him all the time.

And you guys, my son is such a great kid.  He really is.  I can’t even begin to describe how much I love that boy.

2 thoughts on “Seriously, guys.

Leave a Reply

