That moment when your muscles don’t ache but you kinda wish they did.

So life has been quite hectic for the last few months. Ever since I started getting back into music my Kung Fu training has been pushed to the back burner. I knew it was going to happen. I talked to my Sifu (teacher) about it and we both agreed that it was likely going to happen.. And there may even be a point where I may have to leave our school for good if that’s where this crazy musical road takes me, but I didn’t know what it would feel like.

I started training when I was a kid. My dad enrolled us when we were 8-9, an he would teach us himself as well. A lot of the exercises I do with Ethan are ones that he taught me back then. When my dad passed away a year later, the lessons stopped, but I still practiced what I could remember. Finally when I was 18 I could afford to enroll myself in classes.

It was all downhill from there πŸ˜‰

Anyway, from 2001-2011 Kung fu took up the majority of my free time, and I was okay with that! I love it. It’s in my blood, it’s engrained in everything I do. But life started getting in the way. It’s hard to train consistently when you have nowhere and no time to do it.

So over the last few months things have gotten more and more hectic outside of Kung fu (side note: I don’t know why auto correct keeps making the k in Kung uppercase, but I’m tired of trying to fix it) and I’ve been training and teaching less and less until finally I began to wonder if maybe this is it. Maybe this is the end of my martial arts career? It’s been over ten years… I got my black sash. I got my Sifu title… Taught some really great students… Maybe this is it now? Maybe I’m going to be one of those people that looks at martial arts and goes “Oh yeah! I used to do that when I was younger. I even got my black sash. I used to teach it!”

That doesn’t sit well in my stomach. It leaves an awkward taste in my mouth. Like I just took a sip of expired soymilk to see if it’s good and it’s most definitely not.

So I have to say… I’m sore.

My legs are killing me. My back is tight. My arms are tired. My muscles are constantly begging to be massaged or stretched and all I can think of is “Damn I missed this feeling!”

I may not have Kung fu on the forefront of my life right now but I’m far from finished with it. I’ve got so much to learn and so much to teach. I still want to get in the ring and I there are still weapons I’ve yet to pick up!

One of the best things about Kung fu is that you never stop learning… I love it πŸ™‚ It’s in me and I’ll never be done with it.

Here’s a video of me doing a combination of broadsword forms from like 5 years ago lol. I don’t have many videos on YouTube.. Enjoy!

7 thoughts on “That moment when your muscles don’t ache but you kinda wish they did.

  1. Don’t quit. You’ll have time again.You gotta keep your body moving.Maybe just take a break for a few months from the school but I doubt this is the end of your Kung Fu days. You are so multi-talented and beautiful.I’m so proud of you . You’re going to be 80 years old and people are going to say “Wow..You are still doing Kung Fu?” :o) and those will be your fans of your beautiful voice. Love you so much xoxox

  2. I loved how you answered your own question, “Maybe this is the end of my martial arts career?” You’re good with words. Yes, let’s not stop learning!
    Great video. Women with weapons are awesome! πŸ™‚

  3. Yes, I’m just beginning to learn Filipino Martial Arts (Arnis/Eskrima/Kali). We use sticks, swords, and knives. Men who see me practice say that they have no choice but to be nice to me. Haha!

  4. We share a love of martial arts and music. That is what brought me to your site. I am always impressed by some of the old masters that are on you tube. 90 years old and still moving. It looks as though the constant practice of forms really does keep one strong. Keep training. Passions will move from first to second place but they never leave.

Leave a Reply

