What Inspires You?

It’s a question I find hard to answer. Some people have a focus on a certain person, place, or achievement, I think, and maybe that’s what inspires them. Me? It’s… more of a feeling.

When I hear a song that makes me feel good, no matter what the style of music, it inspires me. It’s that “inspired” feeling that I strive for and that I hope to relay to others.

People like to tell us things. Particularly what we should do or think or how to respond to situations. Usually what they’re trying to do is help us figure things out, but many times it doesn’t quite fit. I have a few acquaintances that tend to say the wrong things at the wrong time, or somehow just seem to fit in a few condescending phrases among a slew of compliments or idle chatter. I’m not sure if they mean well or not, but my reaction is usually first of shock, then of frustration, and then… motivation. It’s the most unhealthy motivation, I think, but I guess if it works it works.

I remember when I was a kid and other kids would tease me about the way I looked or the things I liked, I would think, “One day they’ll be sorry because I’ll be famous..” or something along those lines. My intention was for anyone who’d wronged me growing up to look back and say, “Man, I wish I hadn’t done that to her. Look at her now.”

It sounds like a cheesy after school special, but there it is.

Anyway, I’m still working on the end of that story, but that’s an example of one thing that inspires me: Proving the naysayers wrong.

Again, not the healthiest, but it is what it is.

What inspires you?

One thought on “What Inspires You?

  1. Inspiration floods us through touch, sight, and sound. Until you’re ready to notice, it’s nowhere to be found. We live through other peoples eyes wishing we were them, insecure, jealous, resentful. Avoiding who we really are scared, lost, hypocritical. My time came not long ago, not immediately but slowly creeping. The mirror reflecting my face no more, instead becoming my daughter’s…….I breakdown, realizing, weeping. She opens the floodgates inside my head drowning selfish desire. Making room for thought and creativity, exposing buried memories intended to inspire.

Leave a comment