Observations on Observing and Monomaternalitis.

Soooo if you haven’t noticed yet, I’m a Christian.

Greek Orthodox to be exact.

I don’t play exclusively Christian music, but I don’t shy away from putting the G-word in my songs either. Why should I? He’s the one who’s making me sing šŸ˜‰ I’d like to say a few things about Lent.

Just some observations about observing The Great Lent. Don’t worry, this isn’t preachy. I’m not qualified to preach!
I just figured I’d see what kind of ideas other people have about it.

This is the first year I’ve ever tried to participate. I say tried because I don’t feel like I’ve done a very good job. I’m vegan and I don’t drink, so abstaining from animal products and wine is easy, but olive oil? And wait, on what days do I skip meals? And wait, how do I keep from not ripping someones head off when I’m irritable because I’m hungry? Ohhh… PRAYER….

So yeah, fasting is hard. I’m not going to go into detail about what you are and aren’t supposed to do, because I don’t have time, but feel free to ask my buddy, Google. He knows lots. Lent is the time when we are supposed to cleanse ourselves physically and spiritually so that we’re prepared to celebrate Easter. What I see around is a lot of “I’m giving up chocolate” and “Fish fry Friday!” and not so much pentence or almsgiving..

My point of bringing it up was to basically see what other people think and get a conversation going. Thoughts?

Monomaternalitis
I made that word up.
I am officially out of time(back to work).
Long story short:
Being a single parent is not a disease. We are capable of having lives. Dating. Working. Getting an education.

Let’s stop treating single moms and dads like they’re romantically disabled, shall we?

Discuss!!

2 thoughts on “Observations on Observing and Monomaternalitis.

  1. I’ve never fasted, but my parents have. I grew up in a church where this was encouraged as part of prayer, but I never understood it. I still don’t, to be honest. Fasting is a part of many religions. Muslims fast for Ramadan from dawn to dusk. Buddhists fast on the full moon, and certain holidays; same as the Hindus. There is something about depriving oneself of food that people believe brings them clarity, or a tribute to those that suffered before them, such as in the Jewish traditions. I think it’s a personal choice. No one should be made to fast, or be made to feel like that if the don’t they somehow aren’t spiritual enough. But if it works for someone, then good for them.

  2. Right! This is my first year ever really fasting. I’m doing it because I wanted to. Although being vegan means I already don’t eat what most people do give up for lent… but I don’t see that as a sacrifice. I was curious about fasting for awhile. We were never “made” to do it, but it was kind of implied.

    You’re right, though. Fasting is everywhere. I do believe that depriving yourself of food does 1.) clean out the system physically, and 2.) give you some mental clarity. But I never really understood the significance of fasting religiously.

    When I was 17 I was anorexic. I did it because I wanted to lose weight at first, but then it became a game. I wanted to see how little I could eat and how long it would take for anyone to notice. This only lasted a short period of time, but I lost 15 lbs in just a few weeks. Everyone at the time told me I looked great and I would joke about not eating, but no one said anything to me until later one when I gained the weight back. That’s when they said “I’m so glad you’re eating again, you looked so sickly, we were so worried!” …….Why didn’t they say that to me at the time?? Anyway, that was way besides the point. Let me pick my train up and put it back on the track here. I meant to compare fasting to my bout with anorexia and my issues with dieting.

    I can’t diet. If I start to go on a strict diet, I obsess over it. Much like I did when I was anorexic. So I try to just “eat healthy” and think positive, but I stay away from regimens. So when I approached fasting, I thought it was going to be the same problem. I thought I’d obsess over it and stress over it…. Surprisingly it has not been a problem at all. I think it’s because I’m doing it to get closer to Jesus. I know that sounds super cheesy, but I truly feel that way. Because everytime I start to get hungry or I want to eat something that I told myself that I wouldn’t eat for 40 days, I think about Him. He doesn’t make me feel guilty or obsessive or anything, He just encourages me not to let my body take control.

    A huge part of being a Christian (as well as many other religions) is learning how to keep your flesh from controling you. I think that’s where fasting helps. Our bodies are so governed by food. What better way to separate yourself from your flesh is there than to deprive it from what it wants most?

    Anyway, I’m tired and I haven’t eaten much today (hah!) so I am rambling and could be totally off with my points here, so I appreciate your reading and hope that none of what I wrote was unintelligable or insulting or anything other than interesting! šŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

