the brandywine

Wilmington may not be the picture perfect place to grow up, but The Brandywine River sure holds some of my most cherished childhood memories. From playing in it when we weren’t supposed to as kids, to walking along it as teenagers, and taking photos with my son as an adult… I love it and it’s parks.

Today I took my dog for x-rays. When I picked her up they told me that she has hip dysplasia and arthritis in her back. She’s twelve years old. All these recent vet visits kinda bum me out… thinking about how old she is and how dog’s really should have longer lives. I mean, I can’t imagine a life without her. I know it’s going to happen.. eventually, but I don’t want it to.

So… we just have to make sure Puppy (that’s her name) stays comfortable and happy until that terrible day comes…

I picked her up from the vet and we went to the pet store and picked up a bag of fancy dog treats and headed for the park. As we were walking I reflected on the years I’ve spent with this dog. She’s been with me through so much. Different homes, different relationships, times without homes, life changing situations, etc. We walked and we listened to the birds and the wind in the trees. We walked and I threw treats into the grass for her to find them. I took pictures of her when she sat still long enough for me to do so. I wrote some poetry and we walked through a garden. She wanted to chase birds reaaally badly, but I’m pretty sure her hips wouldn’t be happy after that, so she remained on leash.

Me and her, we’ve been through a lot together. Here’s to many more years…

Leave a Reply

