Not my bag. wait…. Nope! Still not my bag.

So I did terrible in school. Like terrible as in I dropped out after three years of trying to get enough credits to get out of 9th grade (I was in all 11th grade classes, just not enough credits!).

I’m not ashamed, but I’m not proud. I wish I had done better and been more focused in school but I wasn’t and it is what it is. I dropped out at 17 and got a job. At 22 I decided to go back to school. I got my GED and in 2008 I enrolled at Strayer University so that I could get a business degree. Why? Because I worked for a corporation and I wanted to eventually run my own business. Over the next 3 years I realized two things.

1.) I’m smarter than I realized!
2.) All I want to do is make music.

I loved my classes (except for Finance, Economics, and Accounting!), especially Psychology and Sociology! I love learning! (Who’da thought???) and the professors were really great! I enjoyed my classmates and the staff. It really was a great experience and I’m glad I went to Strayer. I graduated in 2011 with honors and a stronger sense of self. I graduated knowing that I…. want to be a musician full time.

I don’t mean to say that I wasted money or time going to college. I am really glad I went and the things I learned at Strayer are definitely going to help me manage myself and have really helped me at work (i.e. dayjob).

Today my phone rang as I was stepping into my apartment and I picked it up. It was my school telling me that I had qualified for a scholarship to come back for my bachelors. It felt really great to say “Thanks, but no thanks.” She didn’t know exactly what to say when I said I wasn’t coming back. “Really?? Not at all!?”

I smiled and said, “Nope… my life is going in a different direction. Thanks!”

It’s nice knowing which bag is yours 🙂

Leave a Reply

