You are exactly where you need to be :)

(a post in which I will reminisce, reflect, and drop a buncha names)

Funny how life works, huh? Sometimes we know what we want to do with our lives when we’re kids, but we’re told that those are “silly” dreams and we need to be practical.

Ever since I was a little girl I wanted to be a famous singer. When we would ride in the car, I would sit in the back and press my cheek against the side of the seat and sing along to whatever was on the radio (Mariah Carey sticks out in my head) and annoy the crap out of my sister because I was too shy to show that I was singing along, but too loud for her not to get a headache!

One day one of my school friends caught me singing on the bus and she said, “Hey! Sing louder!”…(I’m pretty sure I was singing Mariah Carey then too)…and continued to encourage me to sing louder until I was singing full voice. I must have been about 6 or 7 at the time, because we were still living in Claymont. (Shout out, Forewood Elementary! lol).

Anyway, fast forward to 2003. I had stifled that dream, for several reasons, and proceeded to push it further and further from my list of possibilities. Fast forward again to 2007. What a difference 4 years makes! I was in a relationship that ended with my ex basically buying me a guitar and telling me I was living a lie (in so many words).

Really, he told me that he could tell by the way I talk about my music that I wished I was pursuing it. He bought me a guitar, broke up with me, and left me with a whole lotta pain and a whole lotta songs to write!

But this post isn’t about me. I just wanted to give a little intro as to why I think I’m so excited about what’s going on right now.

In 2008 I started writing again. In 2009 I started doing open mics. In 2010 I started booking shows. In 2011 I committed myself to focusing on my dream now that I was finished school. FINALLY. So in the last 12 months, I’ve met a lot of people who well.. are pretty damn awesome!

I first heard Jessica Latshaw with Shane Palkovitz (The Paper Janes) on WSTW’s Hometown Heroes. I remember this because I was like “Oh. I like this” when their song came on. (Exact words.)

Later, I had the pleasure of meeting Jess and Shane at an InDEpendence Musician Network event here in Wilmington. I had been advised previously by the lovely Sarah Czechowski (FelixHunger) that I needed to meet Jess because she was super sweet and we all needed to take a day and hang out in New York and talk about lead singer-y type stuff (not exact words… and we have still yet to do this!). So I introduced myself to Jess and I gave her my card and booked The Paper Janes for meOW Show! In fact, I’m pretty sure I said “Hi, I was told I should meet you!” Which is true, but I also wanted to meet her because I could tell she was pretty awesome.

Since we’ve met, I’ve only been able to see Jess a handful of times, but she’s one of those people who you feel like you’ve known forever within minutes! I remember at one point I told her that I’d always wanted to move to New York and do musicals and that I would live vicariously through her if she didn’t mind (and she didn’t mind). So right about now I am *ecstatic*! Jess has gone viral! And I’m so excited for her!

I’ve never seen this kind of process before. I’ve seen people get lots of attention locally, but I’ve never seen anyone get GLOBAL attention INSTANTLY, and I have to say it’s thrilling! I can’t imagine how she’s feeling right now, because I’d be going crazy! But I’m so happy because it really demonstrates the fact that things like this really do happen to people who deserve it.

It really does show that as you go on about your day, doing what you have to do to get by, pursuing your dreams, and keeping faith in God’s plan for you, He truly is working on your behalf… and at any given moment, when HE sees fit, He will give you just the break you need. Even on a subway on your way home from getting groceries.

Anyway, I’m happy for you, Jess! I really am 🙂

Leave a Reply

